Bad Transportation Bill that effects you!

On Friday, April 1 2016, Governor Larry Hogan vetoed HB 1013, Maryland Open Transportation Investment Decision Act of 2016.  Governor Hogan’s veto letter.

This legislation requires the Maryland Department of Transportation to develop a scoring system for the transportation projects across the state. Under the criteria of the scoring system, rural counties like St. Mary’s County, will never score high, making it quite probable that roads projects in our county never receive funding. Additionally, as I have said before, since the bill was made to be retroactive to projects approved since 2014, several current county projects will be in serious peril of having the funding yanked away.

In 2016 Governor Hogan pledged 33.3 million for much needed and long awaited road improvements in our county. If the Legislature overrides the Governor’s veto of HB 1013, these will all be in danger of having funding pulled away.

MD 5, Point Lookout Road; MD 5, Camp Brown Road to Ranger Station

MD 5, Point Lookout Road, MD 5 at Abel Street/ Moakley Street

MD 234, Budd’s Creek Road; MD 234 Bridge over Gilbert Swamp run (Charles County)

(above photo on Rt. 234 bridge replacement project would be in jeopardy)
I spoke against this legislation on the House Floor and I fully support Governor Hogan's veto of this bill. This legislation removes the possibility of local public input and it is done at the expense of citizens living in rural counties who pay the gas tax same as anyone else. This legislation is bad for St. Mary’s county. Please call and email the members of the House and Senate to urge them to support the Governor’s veto.

Only one week left in the 2016 Legislative Session.  If you have concerns about a bill please contact my office

For legislative and constituent issues please contact myself or my legislative director, Louisa Baucom at 410-841-3170/ 301-858-3170

Toll free 800-492-7122 ext. 3170

Or by email at



There is still time to apply for a House of Delegates Scholarship!

If you live in District 29A in the Northern portion of St. Mary's County and are pursuing a degree, you may qualify to receive an award from the Office of Delegate Matt Morgan. You must be enrolled in a Maryland Institute of Higher Education, or have an approved “unique major” status from MHEC to attend an out of state school. To apply for “unique major status” please visit

You can obtain the instructions and materials for this year’s scholarships by visiting under the tab “scholarships”, or by calling the office at 410-841-3170

Complete Scholarship applications must be postmarked by May 1, 2016. 

Have a great week,

Matt Morgan
State Delegate 29A

Do you like this post?
August 27, 2017
Click Image for Larger Flyer




Annapolis Office:
Delegate Matt Morgan
House of Delegates
6 Bladen Street, Office 317
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
1-800-492-7122, ext. 3170 (toll free)

Local Mailing Address:
Delegate Matt Morgan
PO Box 136
Charlotte Hall, MD 20622