St. Mary's incumbent legislators hang on...Wood squeaks by, Dyson and Bohanan outlast strong challenges, O'Donnell wins big

Here is an excerpt from full article...

It was a nail biter for some, especially for Del. John F. Wood Jr. (D-St. Mary's, Charles), but all four of St. Mary's County's state legislators members weathered Tuesday's anti-incumbent storm and held on to their seats.

Wood came closest to losing his District 29A seat, hanging on to victory over Republican challenger Matt Morgan by a mere 164 votes, with absentee and provisional votes still to be counted. Wood took just under 51 percent of the vote with 6,957 supporters. Morgan just missed with 6,793 votes, a little more than 49 percent. St. Mary's County sided with Wood while Charles County sided with Morgan.

State Sen. Roy Dyson (D-St. Mary's, Calvert, Charles) also saw a roughly 51 to 49 percent race against Republican challenger Stephen M. Waugh. Waugh's campaign received targeted funding from the Maryland Republican Party and an endorsement from former Gov. Robert L Ehrlich, and Waugh gained majorities in Calvert and Charles Counties. However, St. Mary's remained Dyson's base of support, helping him pull out a victory with a total of 21,084 votes to Waugh's 20,024.

Del. John Bohanan (D-St. Mary's) had a slightly easier time fending off Republican challenger Erik Anderson in District 29C, but not by much. Bohanan pulled 7,244 votes to Anderson's 6,633, winning 52 percent of the vote.

Unlike his Democratic counterparts, Del. Anthony J. O'Donnell (R-Calvert, St. Mary's) had more breathing room in District 29B. O'Donnell trumped Democratic challenger Christopher Davies in both Calvert and St. Mary's Counties, pulling 7,531 votes (57 percent) to Davies' 5,264 (40 percent).

Do you like this post?
August 27, 2017
Click Image for Larger Flyer




Annapolis Office:
Delegate Matt Morgan
House of Delegates
6 Bladen Street, Office 317
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
1-800-492-7122, ext. 3170 (toll free)

Local Mailing Address:
Delegate Matt Morgan
PO Box 136
Charlotte Hall, MD 20622